Founded as Union Evangelical Church, the building is typical of the New England
meetinghouses of its day. Built in 1835 the church showcases Greek Revival details combined with architectural design carried
over from the Federal period. The original square
box pews were replaced in 1873 when the interior was "modernized" and a pipe organ was installed
at the front of the church. Unfortunately, the organ was damaged during the flood of 1936 and eventually removed.
bell was manufactured in 1851 by the Holbrook Bell Foundry of East Medway, Massachusetts. The Foundry had
been established in 1816 by Major George Holbrook who had apprenticed to Paul Revere in the bell foundry and clock-making
business. Major Holbrook’s son Colonel George Handel Holbrook succeeded his father in 1820 and ran
the business until 1872. He was a musician, a violinist and a member of the Handel and Haydn Society of Boston. Col. Holbrook
refined the musical tone of the bells and was, in his time, regarded as the foremost bell maker in America. The Union Church
bell, tuned to B-flat, was hung in the steeple on December 12th 1851. It weighs 1,043 lbs.